Error creating feed file, please check write permissions.
about music gigs notes gallery press friends

     rss feed
buy CDs * logon

Jigzag Live!

Jigzag Live! Released October 2004.

Jigzag change rhythms and feels with an ease that is the hallmark of top flight musicianship. Deft use of dynamics and spine-tingling harmony is the icing on this particularly tasty cake.

Tony Hillier
‘Rhythms Magazine’ (Melbourne)
‘Barfly Magazine’ (Cairns)

  1. bottle
  2. stronger the tree
  3. the barefoot bride set
  4. sweet basil
  5. take it like a man
  6. man of wood
  7. 30 seconds of happiness
  8. the chainsaw wedding arrangement
  9. feel like a child
  10. little things
  11. misirlou
Lyrics here, chord charts by demand..

excerpts from a review from Joel Hedrick for

The Sydney folk super trio Jigzag have returned, this time with their first live album, a mixture of traditional musics explored here for your delectation by (in no special order): Caroline Trengove on violin and vocal; Liz Frencham on upright bass and vocals; and Greg Bryce playing acoustic guitar and also providing vocals.

The performances, recorded at various festival and club gigs around the happening international folk circuit, are as relaxed as you'd like an Australian group to be. The first song opens as a treatise on never losing the lifestyle, that of warm nights through long summers, a cold beverage or four and a great group of friends to enthuse with through the evening. Bryce's guitar moves loosely through the songs, often finding itself lost in the wash of other instruments after the opening chords, but hey they're all friends and no one minds the jamming and the girls' fluttering melodies drift over the ganja scent slowly rising from the crowd.

Throughout the set it is Trengove's strings that drive the songs. She gives them the keening emotional edge that a lot of the songs are searching for. She harmonises with everything around her, at times seemingly improvised, always feeding off of the other two, pushing the songs forward. Frencham, in her own sexy unique way sings breathless words through the slower songs, which often outshine the faster ones. She really lets loose on Man of Wood, hollering to just the right effect. There are moments though when the concert experience doesn't quite translate to disk, particularly during 30 Seconds of Happiness, a medley that would be great if it was close to midnight and you'd been drinking in the same farmyard for the last three days but a jump from Zeppelin to Abba in the space of, oh around thirty seconds, in the middle of a live album, well, you get the gist.

If, however, you love songs musing on happiness, strength, friendship and joy in a very personal setting then you could well be in luck. The band shift gears through the disc, those of speed and those of style. Basing tracks around different Celtic and Eastern European melodies they bust over a striking rendition of the classic surf riff that makes up Misirlou. What starts off as somewhat unbalanced, the band not finding their cohesive space together, eventually evens out, speeds itself up, takes on the Middle Eastern you know always existed within and then explodes into some crazy Moldavian pastoral freakout. Peace and joy and sweet-scented herb for all.